Poem: “The Pain of Sonnets”

In class, we were tasked to write a Shakespearean sonnet on whatever subject we could imagine. And boy did my imagination go fa- I’m lying, it went nowhere. I basically used my creative juices to talk about the exact sonnet I was writing… Almost like inception or even a paradox, if you will. It was really interesting, and kind of easy to write in terms of technicality (making sure I have the right amount of syllables and rhyming patterns). If you don’t know what a Shakespearean sonnet is, here’s what I’ve learned so far…

Each Piece MUST Contain the following:

  1. 14 Lines
  2. 10 Syllables per line
  3. A, B, A, B, C, D, C, D, E, F, E, F, G, G rhyme scheme

 

In my in-depth art piece, I explain how to build a Shakespearean sonnet while also giving you a clear, humorous representation of my laziness. My teacher, however, found my poem to be rather liberating and absolutely gobbled up the whole subject matter and theme. I learned to tweak parts of it so that it would flow nicely. I have too many enjambed lines and some lines I could reword to make it flow more and create a more interesting story.

I will edit this as I go, but here is my current draft. I hope you enjoy it ~


The Pain of Sonnets

“It’s hard to write ten syllable sonnets

A, B, A, B, C… fourteen lines per piece.

“You done yet?” they cry. I say, “I’m on it!”

Making it original – dare I cheat?

I think the lines are too long and gloom –

I think Shakespeare has created havoc.

Rather be dancing under Spaniard moons,

lying under the shade in my hammock.

And don’t get me started on all this work,

making every other line rhyme like this –

I’d rather stuff my chubby cheeks with dirt,

than strain my head, my feeble heart, and wrist!

Don’t get me wrong, I have had lots of fun,

but the sun has risen, and now I’m done.”


Thanks for reading!

~R

Leave a Reply

