Letter: Dear 11 Year Old Me

I have been meaning to write two letters to myself. One to my younger self and another to my future self as I have done in the past. I was inspired by another blogger to finally write a letter to my younger self since today is my 22nd birthday! (#LeosRule)

This is more of an advice letter than an update, but I hope you find some truth in what I say that may relate to you.

Dear 11 year old me,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

It’s not a great way to start a letter, especially from your future self, but I just want to say I’m sorry. You’re going to be dragged through wringers for many years to come and it won’t be a nice ride.

You’re going to a new all-girls private school. If I could prevent that from happening, I would – trust me. It’s going to be a bad few years, but I have some advice you might want to take to make it just a little bit easier.

Listen to people, you know what I mean. Say “yes,” to every teacher and do most of what they tell you to do – or at least act interested and ready to learn. Pay attention in Spanish and let “gracias” be the ending to every sentence you speak to la señora. Write as many notes as you can. Ask questions. Do your homework and don’t be afraid to make mistakes – as long as it’s handed in on time.

Make good memories, don’t carve hate into thin skins. Smile, even if you keep your lips shut. Dodge bullets and swinging binders (you’ll know when). Achieve grade 1 in drums or practice an instrument and don’t fool about too much when someone is instructing you, it’s rude and you’re not 8 anymore.

But most of all, embrace your country. Love England for all that it’s given you and make friends so you can enjoy it with them. There is nothing waiting for you across the pond – you are not welcome back in California for a long while so quit your whining and enjoy the scenery – and every train ride.

Heed my every order, and you might survive! ~ Mulan

You will move on to another school and you’ll be much happier, but all the same rules apply – don’t do or say stupid things, don’t always listen to your peers, but always listen to the teachers, is it really that hard?

Just promise to take care of yourself.

Lots of love,

Your future 22 year old self


Thanks for reading!

~R

One Reply to “Letter: Dear 11 Year Old Me”

Leave a Reply

