Poem: “Undo and Redo”

This an old poem of mine that I wrote during a point in my life where everything was at a standstill and I didn’t know what was going to happen next. So I often laid awake thinking about what I would be doing now if I had done certain things in the past and created a better future, a faster future, for myself.

It’s a very simple poem – simple rhythm and rhyming technique. ABAB sentence and stanza structure!

FEAT. An artist’s interpretation!

Featured below is an illustrated response to this poem done by my friend Shann. Shann is a truly talented artist and illustrator (as you can see) – please check out her Facebook page and Tumblr blog for more of her pieces. Look out for more collaborations soon!

13254526_939570246152625_3167507108136185190_n“If I could go back,

and knew what I know,

I’d change a few things,

and shake up the flow.

I might go to class,

be where I should be,

Say and wear what I wish,

And only be me.

Ignore the ignorant,

hold dearest friends close,

Respect authority,

never stick up my nose.

Have love and compassion,

a watchful mind,

Keep ears wide open,

and always be kind.

Harbor a strong heart,

let others be shared,

Make sure I remind them,

that I always cared.

So, if I could go back,

and knew what I know,

I might change a few things,

and see where it goes.”

 


Thanks for reading!

~R

Published by

Leave a comment