Letter: Dear Lolly

This is a letter I wrote to my best friend’s sister. We were pretty close back in England. Enjoy!

Dear Lolly:

I am so grateful to have met such an amazing young girl. You are the best sister I have ever had and I thank you for showing me how much fun it is to be young. You remind me of when I was 7 or 8 years old and I was blonde with blue eyes and smiled all the time. (I wasn’t as pretty as you, but I was probably just as crazy!) 

I grew up as an only child (for most of my life) and I can tell you that I really didn’t like it. I am jealous that you have a funny brother and a very lovely sister to take care of you when you’re upset. Not to mention a mum who is absolutely amazing. I know at times they may seem to be a bit of a nuisance to you, but they only do what they do because they care about you and all they want to do is protect you.

As a Leo, I know you’re going to grow up to be strong, independent and wise… Like me! I also understand that you’re young, but I feel like there are things that you should know that I wish I knew when I was your age… Saying goodbye is the hardest thing you’ll ever have to do. I’ve done it a million times and it’s never gotten easier. However, you have to let things go in order to let new things into your life and that is the best feeling in the world. It’s funny how that works out. Another thing is that you’re beautiful. You will grow up to be even more beautiful and even if you have doubts, I promise that you will look at photos of you when you were younger and think of how cute you are. So basically, always jump in front of the camera, if you can! And lastly, orange and yellow never go together.

So, even though I may not be around most nights to tuck you in, I still expect to hear from you! I want pictures and emails/letters… Is that a deal? And then we can visit each other! I can come back to England and we could go to the Zoo or you could come visit me and go to Disneyland/Disney World and we’d have a whale of a time!

So take care of Sara for me, love mummy with all the love in the world, have fun with Zach and stay young. But most of all, be you. There is no one in the world that is better than you. That is, if you believe in yourself.

I love you to the moon and back!

I miss you already…

Renie Simone xoxo

2 Replies to “Letter: Dear Lolly”

  1. That’s so beautiful, have tears in my eyes, we miss you… And good byes are always difficult, we all hate them…. I look at them as see you soon, you have been such a wonderful part of our lives, now and I know in the future too… Massive hugs xxx

    Like

    1. Mum! I’m so glad you like it. I teared up writing it and my mom totally broke down.. I miss you. Goodbyes don’t mean anything to me except for, “See you later”. I am so glad to have been there when I was. Thank you for everything! Love you xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

